I’m a Winner! Yay!

Jo asked me a week before NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) started if I was going to attempt it this year.  I hadn’t even thought about it but then I had an idea for a story – just the beginning and end with a few bits in the middle so I thought I’d give it a go.  I managed to do the daily quota of 1,667 words for the first 3 days then gradually got behind.  Uploading your words to the NaNo site and seeing that you are below the daily quota line on the graph is very demoralising.  It didn’t help that Jo was miles ahead of me right from the start.

Last Saturday I had a meltdown because I’d only done 26,000 words and I thought there was no way I could reach 50,000 words by the end of November.  Jo gave me a pep talk, saying that I work full time so I haven’t got much time to write and I was doing really well.  She also pointed out that I was doing it the hard way because I didn’t have it all planned out before I started, I was doing it by the “seat of the pants” method – making it up as I went along.  It didn’t help.  I thought there was no way I could write 24,000 words in eight and a half days.  I was going to give up.

Then Jo told me that she had read on the NaNo site about a man who had taken part in NaNoWriMo for 10 years and he had been a winner every year except for the time that he tried to do it by using the “seat of the pants” method.  Now, that was a challenge!  I thought if I can do this using the same method that defeated such an experienced writer then I’d be a real winner.

I had a couple of days off work last week but I had some appointments too so I didn’t do much writing then.  Mostly it was done last weekend and in the evenings until I got to Friday night and I decided to just write until I finished.  So, I was a winner at 5.15 am on Saturday and I got to bed at about 6.00 am.  When I got up at 12.30 pm I was absolutely elated.  I was so proud of myself that I told the cashier in the local shop about my achievement!   😀

I’M A WINNER!

My National Novel Writing Month winner's certificate.

My National Novel Writing Month winner’s certificate.

Winner-2014-Twitter-Profile

8 thoughts on “I’m a Winner! Yay!

  1. Oh wow! I am so very proud of you! You must be over the moon, such an amazing achievement! Well done! What a super star you are! Now maybe you will have a little faith in yourself, I know you can achieve whatever you set your mind to and now you have written proof. I can’t wait to read it. I really am so happy for you. Xx

    Like

    • Thanks Marie. I was over the moon on Saturday. It didn’t last though which is disappointing. I’m not doing it again just to get that high, lol. I’ve still got a lot of work to do on the book before it will be ready to read though. xx

      Like

  2. It will be there still, just in your sub conscience! You should be so proud, that was some achievement! You must do it again, just do the ground work first and prepare a schedule and stick to it! It will be easier next time I am sure!
    I can’t wait until you have fine tuned it so we can read it, I am sure there will be a few of us waiting!
    I must say again, how impressed I am and how pleased for you, you did it!
    Worth all the work I am sure, now the bulk of it is done!
    Keep at it, you will find your feet and the best way for you to proceed. Xx

    Like

    • Thanks but I think it was too much of a roller coaster ride. Putting my heroine through hell was very traumatic. It’s also a huge time commitment and a lot of hard work. I’ve never written anywhere near that amount before. I’m glad I did it this time but I’m not sure I want to do it again. xx

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

