Stonehenge – and the Way Things Go Full Circle!

Stonehenge. Photo credit: English Heritage

Stonehenge.
Photo credit: English Heritage

Yesterday, I saw a very interesting TV programme about Stonehenge (the ancient standing stone circle in Wiltshire, England).  You can watch it here for the next 5 days.  It was lovely to see the presenter, Alastair Sooke, deal sensitively with the Druids who celebrate the summer solstice at Stonehenge.  There was even a little bit about Marc Bolan and his music!

 

Standing stones at local park.

Standing stones at local park.

Today, I went with my sister and her dog Jonah to a dog show at a local park that we’ve never been to before.  I was surprised to see these (pretend) standing stones at the park.

 

 

 

 

 

Jo and Jonah with the standing stones.

Jo and Jonah with the standing stones.

Jonah sitting on one of the stones.

Jonah sitting on one of the stones.

This reminded me of when Jo and I went to Wales to get Jonah.  We stayed overnight at a very weird hotel.  The owner was having a bath when we arrived and opened the door to us wearing his dressing gown then we had to go through this creepy hotel in the dark.  Jo thought the owner was going to lock us in a cupboard.  It was very “Psycho”!

We had Jo’s other dog, Jubilee, with us and we took her for a walk up the road.  There was a row of tiny terraced houses but there was nobody about.  There had been a few people standing watching us when we first arrived which was very unnerving until I realised they were waiting for a bus!  The bus went to the end of the road, turned round (because it was a dead end) and came back.  We took Jubilee up to the end of the road and on a path that led up to the massive hills that surrounded the road.  I didn’t like those hills, I found them very oppressive.  Even now sometimes I think “Thank God I don’t live in Wales!”

One of the oppressive hills in Wales and the bus stop at the end of the road.

One of the oppressive hills in Wales and the bus stop at the end of the road.

At the base of the hills was a small circle of stones!  (This is where my story comes “full circle”   🙂   )  It was very eerie and we wondered if they did sacrifices there.

Me and the stone circle in Wales.

Me and the stone circle in Wales.

I think those marks on the stones are from motorbikes rather than human sacrifices, lol.

It was a very odd place and the locals were strange too.  We felt like outsiders and wondered if we had ended up in a “Deliverance” scenario!  Anyway, we’re still here to tell the tale but it was very creepy.  I found it so difficult to sleep that night!

8 thoughts on “Stonehenge – and the Way Things Go Full Circle!

  1. No need to worry so much. In some places (not just Wales) it is the stranger who is weird and worrying and gets that response. Many places in Wales are wonderful. You could dispel the earlier effect by visiting th Snowdonia National Park. People are much more used to visitors and friendly.

    Whatever the endeavour, I hope it is enlightening and enjoyable. All the Best, Graham. 🐻

    Like

  2. I remember you telling me about your trip to Wales, it made me giggle all over again!
    I love Stonehenge and have also been to the park with the mock rocks lol
    Very interesting post again, thank you, I really do enjoy reading them. Xx

    Like

  3. Yes, I agree that Treorchy was a weird place, but I didn’t mind the hills. When we drove away the views were fantastic and the hills made me feel more protected that threatened. The hotel was VERY strange, though!

    Like

    • The hills made me feel like I was never going to escape! Yes, the hotel was strange. It didn’t help that when we arrived we appeared to be the only guests and the guy who was supposed to cook our dinner never turned up. I’m sure that hotel owner had his mother’s corpse in his room, hence the chair wedged behind my door that night!

      Like

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

