Zombies and Wesen

While going out to get my lunch
A couple of weeks ago,
I had a strange experience –
I bet you didn’t know

That Southend’s full of zombies!
At least that’s what I saw
As I walked along the High Street.
I’d not noticed them before.

They shuffled along slowly
And some got in my way.
I tried hard to avoid them
On that peculiar day.

The very odd thing is that
Someone else noticed them too
Because they got a mention on
“Have I Got News For You!”       (Honestly – see below *)

Since then I’ve noticed Wesen too
Like in the programme “Grimm”.
(That David Giuntoli’s cute,
I wouldn’t mind seeing him. 😉 )

David Giuntoli (Nick Burkhardt in Grimm). Photo credit: watch.uktv.co.uk

David Giuntoli (Nick Burkhardt in Grimm).
Photo credit: watch.uktv.co.uk

The people in Southend are odd.
No, seriously, they are.
I’m looking much more closely now,
I’ve noticed they’re bizarre.

There are some who look like werewolves
With lots of facial hair,
While others move their heads quickly
And have a bird-like stare.

Monroe (played by Silas Weir Mitchell) in his  Blutbad guise in Grimm. Photo credit: watch.uktv.co.uk

Monroe (played by Silas Weir Mitchell) in his Blutbad guise in Grimm.
Photo credit: watch.uktv.co.uk

There are a few big, burly ones
Who lumber everywhere.
They’re often gentle giants.
I think they’re a type of bear.

It isn’t just in Portland     (In Grimm)
Or in Southend-on-Sea
Where zombies and Wesen reside.
Look, then you’ll believe me!

Zombies in Scotland at Hallowe'en. Photo credit: news.stv.tv

Zombies in Scotland at Hallowe’en.
Photo credit: news.stv.tv

The photo above was the closest I could get to what I saw in Southend but there wasn’t any blood, just a lot of oldies shuffling along, lol.

*It was the episode presented by Jennifer Saunders that was broadcast on 4.4.2014 – a day or two after I saw the zombies. She was talking about the dust everywhere that came from the Sahara. She said “According to ‘The Sun’, one resident described street scenes in Southend as ‘like something out of a zombie movie’. And then the smog descended.” 🙂

4 thoughts on “Zombies and Wesen

    • Thanks Jo. Wesen are a bit like werewolves in that they look human but aren’t and can change from human guise to another form. There are lots of different varieties of Wesen, they can be types of birds and animals or just look like monsters. There’s even one that looks like an alien. Only a Grimm can see them as Wesen unless they choose to allow humans to see them in their true form. You can see what they look like here: http://grimm.wikia.com/wiki/Wesen

      Like

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

