What Am I Supposed To Do With My Life?

I’ve been generally procrastinating today (as usual) rather than looking for a new job or getting on with my writing course or actually writing a book and I’ve been feeling generally miserable and stuck so I Googled “What am I supposed to do with my life?” and found a website called Tiny Buddha.  That one caught my eye because it had an article called “6 Powerful Questions That Will Change Your Life Forever.”  You can read that article if you click on the picture below.

Self-Knowledge1-tinybuddha.com

To be honest, I’ve already asked myself most of those questions.  I’ve studied myself, analysed myself and worked on my energy, thoughts and beliefs for several years now but it hasn’t made any difference and I’m still feeling stuck.  I thought I wanted to be an artist but I don’t seem to be able to get anywhere with it so I think that will have to remain a hobby, at least for now.  What I have realised is that I love writing my blog.  I know there are ways to make a living out of blogging, either getting paid to write other people’s blogs or writing about subjects that help people such as weight loss or eating healthily and selling ebooks about them, but I just love writing about whatever interests me at that moment, I don’t want to be tied down to a particular subject.  I guess in that respect I’m like Stephen Spielberg as he makes films he would want to watch but nobody is paying me (yet lol).

I have some ideas for children’s books that I may eventually get around to writing (yes, I know I should just get on and do it but I’m too busy expending energy fretting about the stress I’m getting at work and desperately trying to relax).  I am also going to do a meditation for myself to find my Twin Flame.  I’ve done meditation CDs before, when I was running my physical mediumship circle, and my friends in that circle said I have a really good voice.  Obviously, I use my “telephone” voice when recording meditations rather than my normal voice which is probably why my friends sounded so surprised when they heard it lol!  I’ve studied hypnosis and I’ve used brainwave entrainment audios before (though I don’t think I’ll use BWE for this recording) so, with a little bit of experimentation, I could come up with something that might actually work instead of using other people’s recordings that don’t seem to have any effect on me.  If it does work for me it will be a miracle as I avoid relationships like the plague so that would be likely to work for other people too and it might be the way I will make my millions lol.  Maybe part of my problem is that I have too many possibilities so I’m not sure where to focus my energy for the best.

The Daily Prompt today is Money for Nothing.  “If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.”  

So, that ties in very nicely with what I have written about today anyway.  I have asked my guides (several times) to get me out of this unbearable work situation and show me what I should be doing.  I know you are supposed to do what you love and what I love is art, writing and animals, particularly my cats.  I love doing anything creative and I’ve made jewellery, dresses, models, costumes and cards.  I also love jiving though there isn’t anywhere local that does it so I haven’t been dancing for many years.  Working in accounts is really NOT what I should be doing and the thought of ending up in another stifling job fills me with dread but I still don’t make headway in trying to do something more creative.  I am very reluctant to run my own business as I need a steady income I can rely on so I stay in a paid position even though I know it is possible for any of us to lose our jobs in this economic climate and it would actually make more sense to get on and create things I could sell while I’m still employed by someone else.  My dream job would be getting paid for writing my blog and children’s books, creating my art and maybe making (sparkly!) things, all of which I can do from home while being with my cats.  Just reading that last sentence makes me smile and feel relaxed.  There’s a big sign if ever I saw one!

Going back to the Tiny Buddha site, there are 2 things that interest me.  The first one is, if you look at the page about the 6 questions, you will see in the comments section underneath that there are MANY people who are in a similar situation to me.  They hate their jobs and they want to do something else but they don’t know what.  The second interesting thing is that the site is called Tiny BUDDHA as my master guide is Chinese and has been described to me by a fellow student medium during a workshop as a laughing buddha (funny, he doesn’t look like he is laughing when I see him though he did tease me about eating a whole packet of Jaffa Cakes once).  I do have issues with my master guide at times because he always seems to be around when I’m going through tough times and it feels like he is teaching me harsh lessons so I tend to rely on my guide Ben instead.  However, I had asked all of my guides and angels to help me with this quest to find what I should be doing as I feel completely lost and alone.  Maybe my master guide is stepping up to the plate on this one.  It is certainly odd that the Daily Prompt fitted in so perfectly with what I was going to write about today anyway.  Perhaps I should have another go at those questions.   😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Too Much ____________! | The Photo Faith Challenge
  2. Daily Prompt: Work « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Questions from a three legged alien | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Ballerina | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Pride Stinks | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt – Money for Nothing | Views Splash!
  7. My Job Makes Me Feel Sexier Each Day | My Life and My Career
  8. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing -Stock Trader | Journeyman
  9. Writing in PostMortem | 365 days of defiance
  10. Chasing The Dream Job: A Haiku; Saturday, February 15, 2014 | LisaRosier.com
  11. Daily Prompt: Money or Nothing | Thoughts of an INFP
  12. Daily Prompt: Work, an artist’s rendition | VNA Images
  13. My DrEaM jOb…. | ensuing light…
  14. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing « Mama Bear Musings
  15. Montreal Mystery Mansion: Redpath Family Home to be Demolished | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  16. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Awl and Scribe
  17. Living, Learning, Earning and Leaving | The White Coat Chronicles
  18. My Dream of a Perfect Day… | Midwestern Plants
  19. Passion Brings You Money ! | Knowledge Addiction
  20. Lawyer Up « Mon Cache
  21. My Goal For My Future « One Crazy Mom
  22. One Crazy Mom
  23. My Dream Job « One Crazy Mom
  24. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  25. DP Daily Prompt: | Sabethville
  26. a medium maybe? | peacefulblessedstar
  27. Forging friendships and learning: help me pitch? | callieweylin
  28. A Soaring Heart | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  29. Daily Prompt: Work | That Montreal Girl
  30. 265. The Perfect Job | Barely Right of Center
  31. That’s My Life | Flowers and Breezes
  32. Artsy Fartsy | Maria For Real
  33. If I were a Carpenter and You were a Lady? | meanderedwanderings
  34. Dreamy job! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  35. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Working Fur Free… | Haiku By Ku
  37. Whats more lovely than being a part of kindergarten? | harinivasudev
  38. Rabbiting on: Marzipan Three | alienorajt
  39. I May Not Have a Piece of Paper, But I’m Fluent in Proficiency | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  40. American Dream | Finale to an Entrance
  41. Ideas4Humanity.com(tm)
  42. Dreams Do Change | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  43. Dream Job | My Play Nook
  44. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Not The Sword But The Pen
  45. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | The Poet Stefan
  46. General Hospital Explores How Someone Learns Homophobia
  47. Dreaming About My Dream Job – Musings | wangsgard.com
  48. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing – Inspiring the World or Sinful Pleasure Seeker | Just Be V
  49. Daily Prompt : Dream Job | Processing the life
  50. No money | Life is great
  51. Life of a zookeeper in an imagined zoo | A picture is worth 1000 words
  52. Beowulf/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  53. IS THIS WORK! | Francine In Retirement
  54. Word Doctor | thejimmieG
  55. DP: Work | As I See It
  56. Daily prompt: Money for nothing | laura-in-china
  57. Daily Prompt, 15 February 2014: Money for Nothing | The San Francisco Scene–Seen!
  58. Rite of labour | shame
  59. Jobs & Benefits | A mom’s blog
  60. Isn’t It Obvious? | Under the Monkey Tree
  61. Зимен пейзаж от майстора на ремонтите на битова техника по домовете в София | lxpress2
  62. Why I Think the Atlantic is Right: Where is the Love? In the Philippines. | Kosher Adobo
  63. DP: The Mirror of Erised | Scorched Ice
  64. Compagnon de Voyage….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  65. Time Lord Required: Apply Within (It’s Bigger) | Steve Says….
  66. Why haven’t I pursued my dream job? | Life Sans God
  67. Money for Nothing | Life on the Golden Rock
  68. Dreams Do Come True | Visions Of a Vikzen
  69. Money for Nothing | I’m a runner and so can you
  70. Daily Prompt: Being Paid for Nothing! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  71. Daily Prompt – Money for Nothing? | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  72. RUINED FOR WORK | SERENDIPITY
  73. Day 46. . . Ultimate Job | Dear Blog ’14
  74. Job = Work… Even in Your Dreams | My Author-itis
  75. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Believe | sky blue with daisies
  76. Monk for the Revolution | Coyota Fiera
  77. Day 46: Dream A Little Dream | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  78. Daily Prompt Feb 2014 | The Life of A Working Mum
  79. Why I teach | Muddy River Muse
  80. Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Basically Beyond Basic
  81. Money For Fun and Creativeness | Read Me
  82. Haiku: Righteous Work | Dhikrcave
  83. The Pioneering Mathematician | [In]motivation
  84. Give me the ski slopes any day | 2 times pink

28 thoughts on “What Am I Supposed To Do With My Life?

  1. I loved reading your post. You have so many options which might be the reason you cannot decide which one to choose. Writing children’s books can be a fun thing to do. I always focused on being a teacher, I studied whatever was necessary to become one. I enjoyed teaching,I opted to teach elementary grade children,which is what I did and had a great time.
    Thank you for sharing your post and also for stopping by.

    Like

    • I think you’re right Ranu – too much choice! I’ve never been good at making decisions. I’m thrilled that you loved reading my post. As you already have experience of working with children, have you ever thought about writing children’s books? You’ve got a great blog. You should be proud of yourself. 🙂 Thank you for your supportive comments.

      Like

  2. Pingback: a medium maybe? | peacefulblessedstar

  3. I think one major problem is that people expect their jobs to be their lives rather than seeing that the job is just a way to earn a living, and that joy, peace, satisfaction and personal fulfillment might come from activities outside the job (volunteering for something you care about, writing the book because you have a spare weekend, or could get up earlier, etc.). I have written good novels while, at the same time, working the equivalent of two full time jobs. There is only one way to do the things we want to do. We must simply do them.

    Like

    • Hi Martha, thank you for your comments. I agree that joy, peace, satisfaction and personal fulfillment might come from activities outside the job. I also think that people spend the majority of their time at work (if they work full-time) and so they should enjoy what they do, not feel stressed, anxious, be physically sick before they go to work or suffer panic attacks just at the thought of going to work. You must be Superwoman managing to write novels while working the equivalent of two full-time jobs! I’m struggling with just one job. You are right when you say we must simply do the things we want to do. In my case there is obviously something that is stopping me – some fear or other limiting belief that I haven’t managed to overcome yet. You’ve done well to get your novels written. Good luck with them. Did you do the illuminations for your them too? A woman of many talents. 🙂

      Like

      • I did. Those small drawings on the Martin of Gfenn blog are my work. The others came from the Codex Manesse. I just reached a point where the story I had to tell was larger than any other thing that might have been there. I do not know about you, but for many people the biggest fear is that maybe, after all, they have nothing to say, nothing to write. Paradoxically the only way that can be true is if the person never tries. People also worry they are no good. We’re all no good. But until we get our work out there in front of us, we can’t evaluate it or improve it.

        Definitely, if a person is physically ill at the thought of going to work, they need a different job. But an ordinary ho-hum pay the bill job that isn’t traumatizing can be very nice thing without being ones reason for being. I’ve been lucky to have been found by a job I love and in the moments when I wonder if I made the wrong choice and should have become a “writer” I instantly think, “No. I wouldn’t have missed a moment of my teaching career.” That worked out well for me and I truly know how lucky I’ve been. I hope you find your way through the labyrinth! 🙂

        Like

        • Your drawings are really good. I think my problem is the fear of failure coupled with the fear of success! Yes, I think everyone worries that they are no good. There are many successful people who think they do not have talent and feel they are frauds.

          I would be very happy to have an ordinary ho-hum job. I like doing menial tasks at work (like envelope-stuffing) because I can think about things that interest me at the same time and I don’t mind repetitive jobs either because I like routine. I’m glad you’ve had a career that you’ve enjoyed. Thanks for your good wishes. 🙂

          Like

  4. I guess you saw from my post that I’m into running. Since people I work with also read my blog, I couldn’t say what I really want.
    I want to start my own running related business and leave corporate America ASAP. I’ve looked into a few ideas but need to keep my day job until my business is up and running. I think my latest idea will work.
    I know it’s easy to say and not easy to do – you have to take that first step and do it. Do something. I’m not an author so I don’t know the process of writing a book. You should take what ever the first step is and do it today. If there are ten steps and your ideas fall apart before step 5, go on to the next idea and see if you can get to step 6.
    It’s not easy and lots of people will tell you no and that your idea/ book is no good. Maybe they have some good advice that you can use to improve your idea or to come up with a new idea.
    Hang in there and don’t give up.
    Andy

    Like

    • I didn’t need to read your post to know that you’re into running Andy, your name ‘imarunner2012’ kind of gives it away lol. What you wrote about the importance of your first job was interesting. I hadn’t heard that before. Mine was dealing with complaints! Good luck with your running related business, I hope it works out for you. I should just get on with the first step. I know I can do it if I put my mind to it. Thanks for the support. 🙂

      Like

  5. Pingback: what i do for love | In The Moment

  6. Pingback: Jobs & Benefits | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Trip the light fantastic | litadoolan

  10. Wow, that was a rather powerful, deep and thought provoking post! My honest opinion is…GO FOR IT! Yes the mortgage and the bills have to be paid and funnily enough the cats as well as you 2 need food so OK go with the day job for now but focus on the children’s books and blogs, get your name known. You are a very talented lady, seriously you are, I for one really enjoy your blogs, I look forward to them!
    If you can try to channel all that frustration that builds up during the day and then go home and put it to paper, well screen really lol, just imagine what you could achieve?!
    Please just have a bit of faith in yourself, I have lots but that won’t help you unless you help yourself, I KNOW you can do it, go on, do it!!!

    Like

    • Was it Marie? lol I just wrote what I felt. You know what I am having to deal with at work as you have experienced some of it yourself but I can’t be more specific in my posts because I still work there and you never know who is reading this. If I channelled all of the frustration that builds up during the day I would have a lot of very angry, emotional posts that would not be pleasant to read!

      I really appreciate your support and I’m glad you enjoy my blog. You are the only one who reads all of my posts and comments regularly. I started this blog to get more interaction with people and this post has got more comments than any of the others. It seems to have touched people somehow. I’m not sure why. I did do a lot of tapping about issues surrounding my career so maybe that worked. I’m still procrastinating though so perhaps I need to tap on that. 🙂

      Like

  11. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Do Whatever Works For You” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

