Can We Dump ‘Auld Lang Syne’ For Something Happier?

I hate New Year’s Eve.  It always makes me think of people I’ve lost over the years and getting old.  It is not helped by having to sing that awful Scottish dirge, ‘Auld Lang Syne’.  It is traditionally sung by Scots on Hogmanay (the last day of the year).  Wikipedia says ‘it is also sung at funerals, graduations and as a farewell or ending to other occasions’.  I think that explains a lot really.  That means it is not used to welcome the New Year in, it is to get rid of the old one.  No wonder I always find it depressing!  As an English woman, I object to my New Year celebrations being taken over by the dour Scots.  It’s time this miserable ‘tradition’ was dropped and a new one put in its place, so……….

I’ve decided instead that this year I’m going to sing ‘Happy New Year To You’ to the tune of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Happy Birthday To You’ (but not necessarily at midnight).  I’ve even bought a chocolate cake (I didn’t know why at the time I bought it but now it all makes sense).  It works for me.  I hope.  So, I’ll wish you all a very happy, peaceful and prosperous 2014 now so I can avoid all of the usual ‘festivities’ at midnight.

New Year 2014 Fireworks in Sydney, Australia. Photo credit: bbc.co.uk

New Year 2014 Fireworks in Sydney, Australia.
Photo credit: bbc.co.uk

If you REALLY want to see even more celebrations, take a look at the beeb website.  I’m now watching ‘Jonathan Creek’ which finishes at 12.35 am so I’ll see you next year.

5 thoughts on “Can We Dump ‘Auld Lang Syne’ For Something Happier?

  1. Pingback: Twa wee sangs fae Hogmanay | Karl Dallas Day

  2. Could we not sing both? The one to say goodbye to the old and then an upbeat one to welcome the new? It would work for me 🙂
    Happy New a Year to you and yours, I hope it is a good one! Xx

    Like

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

