The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Today’s Christmas tree is a more traditional one.

Christmas tree with presents and bells. Picture credit: qvectors.net

Christmas tree with presents and bells.
Picture credit: qvectors.net

http://qvectors.net/abstract-christmas-tree-vector-art/

I went to see ‘The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug’ tonight.  It was a birthday treat from my nephew and his girlfriend for my sister, my daughter and me as the three of us were born in December.  I didn’t see ‘The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey’ last year but I had seen the first part of ‘The Lord of the Rings’ and I wasn’t keen on it as it just seemed to be a very long film of one battle after another.  ‘The Hobbit’ does have quite a few battles but there is one involving Legolas (Orlando Bloom) fighting Orcs while he is balancing very precariously on dwarves’ heads as they’re swept along a river that was thrilling.  The film is about Bilbo Baggins and the dwarves travelling to Lonely Mountain where Bilbo has to try to steal the Arkenstone from under the nose of Smaug the dragon.  The movie is two and a half hours long and there were times when it dragged a bit and I nearly fell asleep (as did two of my companions).  Smaug the dragon was impressive as was the Elf Kingdom and the scenery was magical.  One word of warning – don’t go to see it if you suffer from arachnophobia!  BIG spiders!!!   😯

It was fun playing ‘spot the actor’ though.  I thought one of the dwarves, Kili, was played by Santiago Cabrera (who was Lancelot in the TV series ‘Merlin’ and Isaac Mendez in ‘Heroes’) but it turns out it was Aidan Turner who played Mitch in the British version (as there is now a USA version too) of ‘Being Human’.  It was a bit difficult to tell under all that hair! lol

In the credits at the end of the film I saw Benedict Cumberbatch’s name (he gets everywhere lol) but I didn’t see him in the movie.  When I mentioned it to my daughter she said maybe he had played Smaug the dragon and it turns out that he had!

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

  1. Pingback: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Movie Review) | Green Embers Recommends

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

