Christmas TV

I bought the Christmas TV Times today and I’ve just been having a look through it to see what treats are in store.

First of all……..  Sherlock is back!  Yes!  This is must-see TV starring Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock), Martin Freeman (Watson) and the lovely Rupert Graves as Inspector Lestrade.  This is a modern version of Sherlock Holmes using the latest technology and it’s very clever.  It’s written by Steven (Doctor Who) Moffat and Mark Gatiss (who has also written for Doctor Who and who plays Sherlock’s brother Mycroft) – enough said really.  Sherlock is on BBC1 at 9.00 pm on New Year’s Day.

There is also a new episode of Midsomer Murders.  I like Neil Dudgeon (who plays John Barnaby) but it’s not the same since he took over the lead role from John Nettles (who played Tom Barnaby, John’s cousin).  For me, it has become too modern.  John’s wife Sarah is a secondary school headmistress and while I know that most women work nowadays I preferred Tom’s wife’s character.  Joyce was a housewife who joined in village life by belonging to various groups and taking art classes while Tom was a loving, faithful husband and it added to the cosy feel of the programme.  There was talk a while back that the show was politically incorrect because there were not any foreigners in it.  There is an interesting article about this that is worth reading.  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1366682/Midsomer-Murders-Political-correctness-risible-wasnt-sinister.html  Midsomer Murders in on ITV at 8.00 pm on Christmas Eve.

Doctor Who is back with a Christmas special where Matt Smith bows out and Peter Capaldi takes over.  I don’t know much about Peter Capaldi so I’m reserving judgment until I see what he does with the character.  I knew David Tennant would be brilliant as the Doctor after I saw him in Casanova and I had my doubts about Matt Smith when I first heard he was going to be Doctor Who but I think he has made the part his own and I really like him.  He is going to be a difficult act to follow.  Doctor Who is on BBC1 at 7.30 pm on Christmas Day.

There’s also the live final of Strictly Come Dancing on BBC1 at 6.30 pm on December 21st (which happens to be my birthday and you can’t get better than the Strictly final on your birthday   🙂   ) and the Strictly Come Dancing Christmas Special on BBC1 at 5.00 pm on Christmas Day.  Bring on the sparkle!

On Sunday 29th December, there’s Christmas Catchphrase with Stephen Mulhern, who is lovely.  When the contestants say stupid answers, the faces he pulls are priceless.  That is on ITV at 7.00 pm followed at 8.00 pm by Agatha Christie’s Marple starring Julia McKenzie.  I remember Julia being on Celebrity Squares when she had to name the 7 dwarfs and she called 2 of them Dumpy and Gropey instead of Grumpy and Dopey!   😀   I wrote about that on a forum once and one of the other members said he knew her (name-dropper lol)

I’m putting today’s Christmas tree at the end, just for a bit of variety.  Goodness, the snow is coming down thick and fast on here today!  It’s like a blizzard.

Picture credit: iphonewallpapers-hd.com

Picture credit: iphonewallpapers-hd.com

http://iphonewallpapers-hd.com/christmas_tree_free_download_wallpaper-iphone-wallpaper.html

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

