Unexpected giraffe and The Range

I went to a meeting today and I saw this on the noticeboard in the corridor:

Dancing Giraffe poster

It is a very unusual name to choose.  They could have used the name of any animal to inspire disabled people to achieve things that others wouldn’t expect them to be able to do.  It seems that my quest to find giraffes is now affecting other people lol (see previous posts ‘God – and giraffes?’ and ‘God – you’re having a giraffe!’)

Later I went to check out the new store, The Range, that opened today in Southend.  It was lovely to see smiling faces and eager assistants.  The location is very good (it’s at the old B&Q site next to the station and opposite many bus stops), it’s bright and choc full of practically everything you could think of at very reasonable prices.  They seem to have taken the best from several nearby stores and put them all in one place.  I was very impressed by the pet department (there is a good selection of cat food) and also the arts and crafts department that had a wide range of oil and acrylic paints, and some really interesting books about all sorts of crafts.  There are also lots of gifts (various ornaments, paintings, mirrors, etc), lighting and even plumbing materials!  It’s like an Aladdin’s cave and I’m sure I’ll be shopping there a lot in future.   🙂

NaBloPoMo – only one more day to go!

2 thoughts on “Unexpected giraffe and The Range

  1. Unfortunately the Range are one of the biggest exploiters of unpaid labour (workfare) in my area, so I have a hard time supporting them.

    Like

    • I knew Poundland were (I don’t know if they still are) involved in unpaid labour but I wasn’t aware that the Range are involved. I haven’t shopped there again anyway as I’ve been able to find the goods that I wanted in other stores closer to where I work. Thank you for your comments.

      Like

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

