Is it a UFO? No, it’s the O2!

Something a little different today as I’m running out of time! lol  I was looking through the photos and videos on my camera and came across something I recorded last year in London.  During the Olympics 2012 I had been to see some football matches (that’s soccer for readers in the USA) at Wembley Stadium and volleyball at Earl’s Court.  I enjoyed them but I hadn’t gone to see anything at the Olympic Park so I felt I had missed out.  Luckily, I managed to get tickets for the Paralympics, which were absolutely amazing.  My sister, our friend and I went to see Will Bayley (Team GB) play in the final of the table tennis at the ExCel arena.  He was devastated to only win silver but he had done brilliantly to get that.  His opponent, Jochen Wollmert, was a wonderful sport and even awarded Will a point when the umpire had given the point to Wollmert.  I had really hoped Will would win not just because it would have meant a gold medal but because his celebration when he won the semi-final was so unexpected and funny it was played over and over on the TV and I wanted to see him do it again lol.  When I first saw it I thought “Where is he going?”  I’ve managed to find it online.  It’s not very good quality but you should be able to see it O.K.   🙂   I bet his coach was really embarrassed about his belly lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZ6VIvnEi2g

Afterwards, we decided to go on the cable car over the Thames and I took a video of the experience.  I’ve taken a couple of stills from it to show you the O2 (previously called The Millenium Dome or just The Dome) that we could see out of the window.  It looks like a massive spaceship.  In the second photo you can see another cable car passing by (above and to the left of the O2).  If you ever go to London you must go on the cable car at night.  It’s a bit scary if you’re frightened of heights but it was brilliant.

DSCI1189  DSCI1188

We also went to the Olympic Stadium twice during the Paralympics.  We saw David Weir and Oscar Pistorius win gold medals.  It was absolutely thrilling and a once-in-a-lifetime experience.   🙂

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

