I think my cat is a monster from Doctor Who!

My beautiful cat Bonnie, who follows me everywhere like a little dog, has a habit of appearing out of nowhere and making me jump.  Clyde can’t do that because he is very heavy.  He isn’t fat, he is just long and dense (but he is clever lol).  He goes thump, thump, thump on the laminate floor and almost makes the ground shake whenever he comes into the front room so I call him Godzilla sometimes.

Tonight Bonnie jumped up on top of the breakfast bar while I was trying to make the dinner.  I made her get down onto the floor and turned my attention to the cooking.  When I turned back again she was right in front of my face!  Oh!!!  She had jumped up onto the chair, then onto the breakfast bar and walked across it to be in front of me but I hadn’t heard a thing.  She often does that and seems to get closer to me only when I’m not looking at her.  She reminds me of the Weeping Angels in Doctor Who.  Very creepy.  They can’t move if they are being observed but if you blink they can cover metres instantly to touch you, send you back in time and feed off the time energy.  They can kill too but it is rare.  When they attack they look really frightening, like this:  https://www.bigchiefstudios.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Weeping-Angels-Group-Shot.jpg  Wouldn’t want to meet them in a dark alley!  For more information about Weeping Angels, click here:   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Weeping_Angel   The only problem I have with Weeping Angels is that when I see angels in my mind they look like statues and my personal guardian angel looks like Michaelangelo’s David so for a while I was frightened of my own angels!

Weeping Angels are a brilliant invention by Stephen Moffat and, in my opinion, are second only to the Daleks.  Come on, the Daleks HAVE to be first.  They’re iconic, completely alien, instantly recognisable, fun to impersonate and SCARY!!!  Except when they levitate.  That just looks stupid.  I think it was a mistake to make them do that in the newer series.  It would have been much creepier to have lots of little legs come out of the bottom (like the luggage in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels) so they could go upstairs.  Or put in stairlifts!   🙂

Talking about the Discworld novels reminded me that my sister is going to buy a new house that is very quirky and full of character.  It has beams in some of the rooms and one complete wall in stone with a fireplace in the middle and a little locked door to the right of the fireplace.  She said she is buying it so she can find out what is behind the door lol.  I think she wants it because it reminds her of Richard III but she didn’t even realise that it does!  The front of the house has a couple of steps up into a little open porch with 2 supporting beams.  I said she should call it Nanny Ogg’s House and sit outside in a rocking chair, wearing a dress, with her knees apart lol.  I’ve always thought she was like Nanny Ogg whereas I’m more like Granny Weatherwax.  I’m into headology, I don’t suffer fools gladly and I’m scary.   🙂   Once she owns the house, she just needs to invite me and our friend who is like Magrat round and you’ve got the Wyrd Sisters from Discworld!

Funny, I was sure this post was just going to be about Bonnie and the Weeping Angels lol  Strange how my mind works.

2 thoughts on “I think my cat is a monster from Doctor Who!

  1. Hi Lynne. Great to see you blogging! Stephen Moffat is such a brilliant writer. I agree, the Weeping Angels are the best bad guys to come out of the new era of Dr Who. Stephen also wrote Coupling and the newest version of Sherlock Holmes stories with Benedict Cumberbatch.

    Like

    • Hi Jo. Thank you. I’m loving blogging but finding posting every day for NaBloPoMo a bit of a strain at times when I’m running out of time and I haven’t got an idea. Big panic as it get towards midnight lol. I’m a bit concerned about what I’m allowed to post on here, particularly photos from other sites, as I’m worried about infringing copyright but there is a Press This widget that means you can take things from the internet and put them directly into your blog so I suppose it must be alright.

      I’m surprised you found me lol. I’m still trying to get my head round connecting the blog to Facebook etc but I hope I’ve got the hang of it now. I’ve not seen Coupling but Sherlock is brilliant and I think Benedict Cumberbatch would’ve been great as the next Doctor Who.

      Thanks for commenting, it’s great to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

