Is it just me?

Yesterday, when I was on a bus, I felt like people knew what I was thinking and they knew they were playing a part in my life and they knew what I was supposed to do but I didn’t know what I was supposed to do.  I can’t exactly put my finger on it but it was the way they looked at me, sort of expectantly.  I’ve had that feeling before so if our thoughts create our reality, maybe they did know what I was supposed to do even if they didn’t the first time.   😕  I wish they would tell me what I am supposed to be doing because I feel like I am going round in circles and it is very frustrating!

I asked my sister today if she has ever thought that and she said “No” so maybe it is just me.  O.K., now you REALLY think I’m nuts, lol!  Actually, thinking about it, I suppose it’s like “The Truman Show” really (I’ve never seen it but I know what it’s about) so I guess Andrew Niccol (who wrote it) must have had similar thoughts.  Maybe William Shakespeare thought the same thing when he wrote “All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players” (or maybe not).

I remember my sister telling me about a book that says we keep repeating the same life over and over again, like “Groundhog Life”, rather than “Groundhog Day”. The way my life has gone so far, that is a horrific thought.  Once is quite enough thank you.  It would explain why we sometimes feel we have done something before though (déjà vu).  My sister insists that the term for that should be “déjà fait” which means “already done” rather than “déjà vu” which actually means “already seen”.  She thinks déjà vu should be the term used when you feel that you have been somewhere before but you know it is actually the first time you have been there.  Some people believe they have been to that place in a past life.  I’ve never had the experience of feeling that I have been to a strange place before.  It could be because I don’t believe I’ve lived a previous life on Earth before (or at least I don’t want to believe I would be stupid enough to come here again if I had been here before).  Then again it could be because I don’t get out much lol.

I’ve just checked the spelling of déjà vu and noticed on Wikipedia that there is something called “jamais vu” which means “never seen” and is used to describe any familiar situation which is not recognized by the observer.  The article mentions an experiment where people were asked to write “door” 30 times in 60 seconds and two thirds of them showed symptoms of jamais vu, such as beginning to doubt that “door” was a real word.  It made me think of the TV show “Miranda” when Miranda Hart kept saying “thrust” and then she said “Oh, it’s gone all weird now” lol.  I’ve done that before.  Kept repeating a word until it went weird I mean, not kept repeating “thrust”.   🙂

2 thoughts on “Is it just me?

  1. Well I have never tried repeatedly saying a word before so after reading your blog thought I would try it and see what happens. I am sorry to report that I said “Window” for 2 and a half minutes, I timed myself so know this was accurate, I said the word repeatedly and nothing happened. I am disappointed, I was still fully aware of what I was saying and what the word was and meant. Maybe it only works for some?

    Like

  2. It could be that it only works for some Marie. It might also be certain words or it could be that you have to be in a particular brainwave pattern – probably Alpha (which is when you are daydreaming) rather than Beta (most people’s normal state of consciousness but not mine because I daydream most of the time lol). You can find out more about the different brainwaves here: http://www.finerminds.com/mind-power/brain-waves/

    Like

Please leave a reply. I love to read your comments. Thank you for your support.

